The Glass Sentence

The eagerly-awaited sequel to the best-selling The Glass Sentence -- a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for fans of Philip Pullman!

Book Two
The Golden Specific

It is the summer of 1892, one year since Sophia Tims and her friend Theo embarked upon the dangerous adventure that rewrote the map of the world. Since their return home to Boston, she has continued searching for clues to her parents’ disappearance, combing archives and libraries, grasping at even the most slender leads. Theo has apprenticed himself to an explorer in order to follow those leads across the country—but one after another proves to be a dead end.

Then Sophia discovers that a crucial piece of the puzzle exists in a foreign Age. At the same time, Theo discovers that his old life outside the law threatens to destroy the new one he has built with Sophia and her uncle Shadrack. What he and Sophia do not know is that their separate discoveries are intertwined, and that one remarkable person is part of both.

There is a city that holds all of the answers—but it cannot be found on any map. Surrounded by plague, it can only be reached by a journey through darkness and chaos, which is at the same time the plague’s cure: The Golden Specific.

One sentence can reveal the world’s most powerful secret

Book One
The Glass Sentence

She has only seen the world through maps. She had no idea they were so dangerous.

Boston, 1891. Sophia Tims comes from a family of explorers and cartologers who, for generations, have been traveling and mapping the New World—a world changed by the Great Disruption of 1799, when all the continents were flung into different time periods.  Eight years ago, her parents left her with her uncle Shadrack, the foremost cartologer in Boston, and went on an urgent mission. They never returned. Life with her brilliant, absent-minded, adored uncle has taught Sophia to take care of herself.

Then Shadrack is kidnapped. And Sophia, who has rarely been outside of Boston, is the only one who can search for him. Together with Theo, a refugee from the West, she travels over rough terrain and uncharted ocean, encounters pirates and traders, and relies on a combination of Shadrack’s maps, common sense, and her own slantwise powers of observation. But even as Sophia and Theo try to save Shadrack’s life, they are in danger of losing their own.

The Glass Sentence plunges readers into a time and place they will not want to leave, and introduces them to a heroine and hero they will take to their hearts. It is a remarkable debut.

Reviews

Absolutely marvellous, completely original.

– Nancy Farmer, National Book Award winner

Not since Philip Pullman's The Golden Compass have I seen such an original and compelling world built inside a book.

– Megan Whalen Turner, New York Times best‑selling author of A Conspiracy of Kings

I loved it! So imaginative!

– Nancy Pearl, NPR

Densely imaginative … Grove’s protagonists are compelling, and she enriches her story by introducing fascinating secondary characters.

– The Boston Globe

Refreshing…refulgent with nervy invention…I am in no doubt about the energy of S.E. Grove as a full-fledged, pathfinding fantasist. I look forward to the next installment to place upon the pile. Intensely.

– Gregory Maquire, The New York Times Book Review

Goodreads Reviews

An exuberantly imagined cascade of unexplored worlds, inscribed in prose and detail as exquisite as the glass memory maps young Sophia uses to navigate such unpredictable landscapes. The Glass Sentence is like a pirate’s treasure hoard for map lovers like me.

– Elizabeth Wein, New York Times best-selling author of Code Name Verity

Brilliant in concept, breathtaking in scale and stellar in its worldbuilding; this is a world never before seen in fiction . . . Wholly original and marvelous beyond compare.

– Kirkus Reviews, starred review

A thrilling, time-bending debut . . . It’s a cracking adventure, and Grove bolsters the action with commentary on xenophobia and government for hire, as well as a fascinating system of map magic.

– Publishers Weekly, starred review

A page-turner... thoughtful, intelligent.

– The Wall Street Journal

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • An Indiebound National Bestseller
  • A Summer/Fall 2014 Indies Introduce New Voices Selection
  • A Top Ten Kid's Next Selection
  • A Publishers Weekly Flying Start
  • A Washington Post Summer Book Club Selection
  • A Junior Library Guild Selection
  • One of Publishers Weekly's Best Summer Reads

About The Author

S. E. Grove is a historian and dedicated traveler who has spent years studying the world of maps. Her parents are from the United States and Central Amerca, and she was raised in both places. Since then she has explored many corners of the globe, present and past.  Right now, she lives in the Northeast with her family.

Downloads